Jenny

Jenny

Bookseller 

The Book of Doors: A Novel By Gareth Brown Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063323988
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - February 13th, 2024

'The Book of Doors' is pure magic. Literally I can not say anything without giving away all the cool things happening in this book: Just. Read. It. Gareth Brown you are a writing genius.


The Other Valley: A Novel By Scott Alexander Howard Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781668015476
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - February 27th, 2024

No Spoilers here: The Other Valley left me in a book hangover for days! A heart wrenching coming of age debut that centers around grief. But is so much more: first love, fate, secrets, family expectations, regret. Imagine that your town is the present time. To the east, your town, but 20 years in the future. To the west, your town, but 20 years in the past. Intriguing, right?! Howard's storytelling and world building reminds me of Celeste Ng and Justin Cronin. I can't wait to see what he comes up with next!


Touched By Walter Mosley Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802161840
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - October 10th, 2023

A deeply dark and emotional Good versus Evil story that forces you to consider what you are willing to do to protect those you love. Science Fiction mixed with Horror, Mosley's writing will grab you from Page 1.


Happiness Falls (Good Morning America Book Club): A Novel By Angie Kim Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593448205
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - August 29th, 2023

Watch out because Happiness Falls is so much more than a missing-person mystery full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing until the very end. (Even past the very end.) Kim weaves a family drama that will pull at all of your heart strings and leave you questioning how you view everything and everyone. 


The Last Love Note By Emma Grey Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781958506288
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Zibby Books - November 28th, 2023

Did you also buy tissues when you picked this up? 'The Last Love Note' centers around dying and grief, but moreso about being alive and actually living. Grey's writing style is the perfect blend of the humor we love from Bridget Jones and the deep heartbreak we cried along with from P.S. I Love You. This is a love letter not only to first and second loves, but to all our favorite characters from books and TV. (Sidenote: Do gap years for adults exist?! Sign me up!)


Mister Magic: A Novel By Kiersten White Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593359266
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - August 8th, 2023

This is what nightmares are made from: Our favorite children's shows being run by a cult. I literally could not put this book down. I was mesmerized by the '80s and '90s television nostalgia, the cluelessness of Val's character, and the magical power of childhood friendships. White's writing style and the format (c'mon the chapter titles!) was pure magic, sometimes a bit chaotic, but full of adrenaline that will keep you going until the end.


Just One Damned Thing After Another: The Chronicles of St. Mary's Book One By Jodi Taylor Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781597808682
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Night Shade - June 7th, 2016

Add this to your immediate TBR list. I cannot believe it took me so long to hear about this series. 


The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie By Rachel Linden Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593440193
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - August 2nd, 2022

Have you ever wondered what your life would be like if you could change a regret? 


The Ferryman: A Novel By Justin Cronin Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780525619475
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - May 2nd, 2023

Unknowingly, I've been waiting for this novel all this time. Cronin's writing style, world building, and character development is deeply immersive -- exactly what I was expecting. What I wasn't expecting, the audible gasp when it all clicked. I loved everything about this book. So much so, that words to describe it are failing to come together (plus no spoilers!). Just read it.


The Only One Left: A Novel By Riley Sager Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593183229
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton - June 20th, 2023

Sager's writing made me feel like I was on a wooden roller coaster, the kind where the safety bar only comes over your lap, doesn't completely lock into place, and those innocent twist and turns have you grasping for support. If you thought 'Verity' had an unreliable narrator, 'The Only One Left' takes it to a whole new level. Recommended for fans of Ruth Ware, Lisa Jewell, and Paula Hawkins.


Thistlefoot: A Novel By GennaRose Nethercott Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593314166
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - July 18th, 2023

Baba Yaga, family drama, and a traveling house puppet show. What more could you want? 


Hide By Kiersten White Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593359259
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - May 2nd, 2023

No spoilers here! This is disturbingly dark -- recommended to read when your County Fair is in town. The way White writes about family trauma gets progressively more heart wrenching throughout the story. But in the end, she reminds readers that you aren't alone and sometimes family can be the friends you make.


The House in the Cerulean Sea (Cerulean Chronicles #1) By TJ Klune Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

This book was just delightful. Full of magic, love, and sticking up for what you know is right. Go ahead dive in!


The City of Brass: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy) By S. A. Chakraborty Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062678119
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - July 3rd, 2018

For anyone who has ever felt like they did not fit in.
*Bonus: The entire trilogy is out, no waiting to find out what happens!


The Thursday Murder Club: A Novel (A Thursday Murder Club Mystery #1) By Richard Osman Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984880987
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - August 3rd, 2021

I hope when I retire, I am as cool as the characters in The Thursday Murder Club. Murder (a lot of murders -- but not gory), secrets (everyone has them), and wine & desserts (which should always be included). 

Bonus: The next two books in the series are already out 


The Alice Network: A Reese's Book Club Pick By Kate Quinn Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062654199
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - June 6th, 2017

Historical fiction + female spy + mystery. 

Sidenote: I also enjoyed the The Rose Code.


Staff Pick Badge
This Time Tomorrow: A Novel By Emma Straub Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525539018
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - May 16th, 2023

Trust me, I love me some time travel novels -- but this one hit me right in my heart strings. Straub's writing was heartfelt, tender, and relatable. It was like she mashed up all my adult female friends into one person and then let me watch her grow. I loved everything between Alice and her Dad and Sam -- the good, the bad, the ugly. If time travel was, ya know, real real, I feel like it would be similar to Alice's experience. Watch out backlist, I'm coming for you. (Pssst one of my favorite parts is when she's at the fancy restaurant with her bf -- high five friend.)


The Passage: A Novel (Book One of The Passage Trilogy) By Justin Cronin Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780345504975
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - May 17th, 2011

What would you do for “the one?‟

Warning: This is a trilogy. But worth the read!


Natural Beauty: A Novel By Ling Ling Huang Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593472927
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton - April 4th, 2023

How far is too far when it comes to self-care? 'Natural Beauty' is uncomfortable, cringe worthy, and grotesque. Huang's writing feels like a dark, mysterious symphony that leads you to places where you weren't ready to go. When you pick this up, drop any other plans you won't want to put this down.


Staff Pick Badge
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow: A novel By Gabrielle Zevin Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593321201
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - July 5th, 2022

Gawd this book -- an arrow straight into the heart. Zevin's writing is absolutely amazing. Sidenote: If video games aren't your thing, it's OK, the love story(ies) and nostalgia will keep you turning the pages.  


The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry: A Novel By Gabrielle Zevin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781616204518
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - December 2nd, 2014

Ever wonder what's it's like to work in a bookstore? Meet A. J. You'll love him


Neverwhere: A Novel By Neil Gaiman Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063070721
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 19th, 2021

Recommended for fans of Netflix's 'Stranger Things.' Also a good place to start if reading Gaiman for the first time.


The Art of Racing in the Rain: A Novel By Garth Stein Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780061537967
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Paperbacks - May 22nd, 2018

Told from a dogs POV, c’mon! 


Educated: A Memoir By Tara Westover Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399590528
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - February 8th, 2022

One of the best memoirs I have ever read. 


The Girl You Left Behind: A Novel By Jojo Moyes Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143125778
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 24th, 2014

Hands down my fav Jojo Moyes book. 

Sidenote: I have also read One Plus One, Me Before You, and The Last Letter From Your Lover


The Saturday Night Ghost Club: A Novel By Craig Davidson Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143133933
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - July 9th, 2019

A sweet, heartbreaking, coming-of-age story that follows the Saturday Night Ghost Club as they investigate their small town ghost stories. As is typical with ghost legends, not all is as it seems. You'll fall in love with Jake as he navigates that magical age of being a twelve year old -- finding your BFF, learning to stand up for yourself, and accepting people just as they are. For fans of Super 8 and Stranger Things.


The Ghosts of Rose Hill By R. M. Romero Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781682635520
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Peachtree Teen - May 9th, 2023

I'm not typically a reader of novel in verse, but it literally was the best way to tell this story. It was like listening to music while reading. I loved the mix of modern horror tropes set against a boogeyman from the past. (The Final Girl always survives!) Excellent storytelling of Jewish history, coming-of-age, and magical realism.


The Cartographers: A Novel By Peng Shepherd Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062910707
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - March 21st, 2023

Map lovers unite! Do you remember driving with a map on your lap looking for the next turn? Dangerous? Absolutely! Easy way to find hidden places? You bet! 'The Cartographers is a love letter to maps. Mixing mystery and art with a little bit of magic. Shepherd's storytelling is a little predictable, but it didn't deter me from wanting to arrive at the final destination.