Death at the Dress Rehearsal: Lowe and Le Breton Mysteries (Paperback)

Death at the Dress Rehearsal: Lowe and Le Breton Mysteries By Stuart Douglas Cover Image

Death at the Dress Rehearsal: Lowe and Le Breton Mysteries (Paperback)

$17.99


On Our Shelves Now
Downtown
3 on hand, as of Jun 14 5:11pm
(Mystery and Thrillers)
Starland
1 on hand, as of Jun 14 6:35am
(Mystery and Thrillers)
Two ageing actors attempt to solve a murder after a body is found on the set in this witty, fun whodunnit, perfect for fans of Thursday Murder Club and Death & Croissants.

In 1970, on the set of downmarket sitcom 'Floggit and Leggit', leading man Edward Lowe stumbles across the body of a woman, apparently the victim of a tragic drowning accident. But there's something about her that rings the faintest of bells in Edward's head and, convinced the woman has been murdered, he enlists the help of his co-star John le Breton to investigate further. Crossing the country and back again during gaps in filming, the two men uncover both a series of murders in the modern day, and links to another unfortunate death during the War. As the body count mounts, Edward and John face a race against time to save the innocent victims of a serial killer...
Stuart Douglas is an author and editor based in Edinburgh. He runs Obverse Books, and has written four Sherlock Holmes novels for Titan Books. In 2016, he co-created the award winning Black Archive series of books, and has also written and edited novellas and short story anthologies for several publishers.
Product Details ISBN: 9781803368207
ISBN-10: 1803368209
Publisher: Titan Books
Publication Date: June 4th, 2024
Pages: 400
Language: English
“Death at the Dress Rehearsal is certain to find a place in the hearts of cosy crime readers everywhere, with its breezy prose, its witty observations and the often hilarious interplay between its two thespian leads – not to mention the cracking mystery at its heart. Stuart Douglas has just delivered the best cosy crime novel since The Appeal.”
George Mann, author of the Newbury & Hobbes series


“It was a joy to be in the company of these Dad's Army Detectives. I read the whole book in one sitting. Hugely enjoyable and lots of fun.”
Nev Fountain, author of The Fan Who Knew Too Much


“Glorious and ingenious! What a lovely start to what I hope will be a long-running series!”
Paul Magrs


“Not many authors can write a book where each character has a unique voice. In most cases the inner monologues are much the same, the authorial voice thinly veiled. But not many authors are Stuart Douglas. Edward Lowe and John Le Breton are two of the most unique and disparate crime solvers you could find. Actors as unalike in their dispositions as their methods.” 
Elizabeth Lefebvre, Strange & Random Happenstance blog


“Holmes and Watson by way of Arthur Lowe and John Le Mesurier; a wonderfully mismatched duo who you can't help falling in love with.”
Amy Walker, Trans-Scribe blog










Praise for Stuart Douglas:


“Sherlockians are in for another treat” 
Booklist
 
“An original plot and prose that convincingly emulates Conan Doyle's” 
Publishers Weekly


“Douglas presents us with is that rarest of things: a completely original Holmes story, which remains true to the work of the original author.”
We Are Cult