The Traitor Among Us: An Elena Standish Novel (Hardcover)

The Traitor Among Us: An Elena Standish Novel By Anne Perry Cover Image

The Traitor Among Us: An Elena Standish Novel (Hardcover)


Elena Standish investigates the murder of a fellow MI6 agent near the country estate of one of England’s most influential families in this gripping mystery from New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry.

“Unbearably suspenseful.”—Bookreporter

Not far from the sprawling grounds of Wyndham Hall, the body of longtime MI6 agent John Repton is found, shot dead with a single bullet to the heart. The corpse’s proximity to the estate sends ripples of concern through the intelligence community: Repton was killed while surveilling the members of a household with alleged ties to fascists who threaten the security of the country, as Hitler’s influence spreads across Europe. Elena Standish is assigned the case, thanks to her new connection to the Wyndham family: Her older sister, Margot, is being courted by Lady Wyndham’s brother.

Elena secures an invitation to Wyndham Hall for herself and a companion—her colleague James Allenby. To covertly investigate Repton’s murder, the pair must uncover the true loyalties of the people in the house while protecting Margot from her beau’s potentially dangerous relatives. But Elena is torn, for her widowed sister has finally found happiness after years of sorrow, and having to take down the Wyndhams would destroy Margot’s new relationship.

As Elena and Allenby dig deeper into the Wyndham family’s nefarious connections, Margot grows suspicious. Can Elena reconcile her political and professional obligations with her loyalty and love for her sister? Will Elena and Allenby uncover their colleague’s killer? In The Traitor Among Us, Anne Perry raises the stakes—for Elena, MI6, and the future of Britain.
Anne Perry was the bestselling author of two acclaimed series set in Victorian England: the William Monk novels and the Charlotte and Thomas Pitt novels. She was also the author of a series featuring Charlotte and Thomas Pitt's son, Daniel, as well as the Elena Standish series; a series of five World War I novels; twenty-one holiday novels; and a historical novel, The Sheen on the Silk, set in the Byzantine Empire. Anne Perry died in 2023.
Product Details ISBN: 9780593359150
ISBN-10: 0593359151
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: September 12th, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: Elena Standish
Praise for A Truth to Lie For

“Classic Perry: attention to character development and plot, a fine-tuned sense of place and time, and well-crafted secondary characters.”Historical Novel Society

“They keep getting better. This is another thrilling story with all the characters we’ve come to love. . . . Fans of the series will be happy with this one.”Red Carpet Crash

“Unbearably suspenseful . . . Kudos to Anne Perry, who never disappoints and continues to surprise readers with a number of tricks up her sleeve in a story that pushes the envelope and succeeds on nearly every level.”—Bookreporter

Praise for A Darker Reality

“A good historical mystery is like a balancing act [and Anne Perry] gets the balance just right. It would be easy to believe that Elena Standish really did exist, and that the books are actual biographical stories. Perry proves once again why she is among the top writers of historical mysteries.”Booklist

A Darker Reality is full of Anne Perry’s trademark moral quandaries and historical detail that instantly brings credibility to the story but also makes it feel like an actual slice of world history.”Bookreporter

“Anne Perry’s lush descriptions of the magnificent home and luxurious setting help settle readers into a comfortable niche. . . . [She leads us] on a steady march, keenly analyzing suspects, subjecting readers to palm-sweating confrontations with Agent Elena in disguise.”Historical Novel Society

A Darker Reality is . . . [an] absorbing and calculating thriller/mystery that grabs the reader from the first page. Readers will look forward to more Elena Standish adventures as she continues her passage through intrigue and adventure.”Great Mysteries and Thrillers