Tegan and Sara: Junior High (Paperback)

Tegan and Sara: Junior High By Tegan Quin, Sara Quin, Tillie Walden (Illustrator) Cover Image

Tegan and Sara: Junior High (Paperback)

$14.99


On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Apr 14 1:18am
(Childrens Graphic Novels)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Tegan and Sara series.

From indie-pop twin-sister duo Tegan and Sara comes their bestselling contemporary middle grade graphic novel about growing up, coming out, and finding yourself through music and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Sisters and Sweet Valley Twins.

Before Tegan and Sara took the music world by storm, the Quins were just two identical twins trying to find their place in a new home and new school. From first crushes to the perils of puberty, surviving junior high is something the sisters plan to face side by side, just like they've always faced things. But growing up also means growing apart, as Tegan and Sara make different friends and take separate paths to understanding their queerness. For the first time ever, they ask who one sister is without the other.

Set in the present day, this effervescent blend of fiction and autobiography, with artwork from Eisner Award–winner Tillie Walden, offers a glimpse at the twin sisters before they became indie-pop icons, exploring their shifting relationship, their own experiences coming out, and the first steps of their musical journey.

A prequel of sorts to the authors' bestselling adult memoir High School, now an 8-episode Freevee television series!

During the course of their seasoned career, Tegan Quin and Sara Quin have sold well over one million records and released numerous studio albums. They have received three Juno Awards, a Grammy nomination, a Governor General’s Performing Arts Award, and the New York Civil Liberties Union Award. Tegan and Sara have performed on some of the world’s biggest stages, from Coachella to the Academy Awards, and are executive producers of the TV series High School based on their New York Times–bestselling adult memoir of the same name. They are also the authors of the Tegan and Sara graphic novel series for young readers, which is illustrated by Eisner Award–winner Tillie Walden. In 2016, they created the Tegan and Sara Foundation, which fights for health, economic justice, and representation for LGBTQ+ people. The sisters currently reside in Vancouver, British Columbia.

During the course of their seasoned career, Tegan Quin and Sara Quin have sold well over one million records and released numerous studio albums. They have received three Juno Awards, a Grammy nomination, a Governor General’s Performing Arts Award, and the New York Civil Liberties Union Award. Tegan and Sara have performed on some of the world’s biggest stages, from Coachella to the Academy Awards, and are executive producers of the TV series High School based on their New York Times–bestselling adult memoir of the same name. They are also the authors of the Tegan and Sara graphic novel series for young readers, which is illustrated by Eisner Award–winner Tillie Walden. In 2016, they created the Tegan and Sara Foundation, which fights for health, economic justice, and representation for LGBTQ+ people. The sisters currently reside in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Tillie Walden is a cartoonist and illustrator from Austin, TX. She is a graduate of the Center for Cartoon Studies, where she now teaches. As of 2022, she has published three graphic novellas with the London based Avery Hill Publishing and three with First Second Books, including her Eisner Award-winning memoir Spinning. She lives in Vermont with her family.
Product Details ISBN: 9780374313029
ISBN-10: 0374313024
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication Date: May 30th, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: Tegan and Sara

An Indie Bestseller
A Texas Maverick Graphic Novels Reading List Selection
A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

“A heartfelt, visually stunning coming-of-age story . . . Walden’s art, paired with the authors’ ­lyrical words, create an emotionally resonant reading experience that is sure to mesh with adolescents’ big feelings . . . Highly recommended for fans of ­Svetlana Chmakova and Molly Knox ­Ostertag.” —School Library Journal, starred review

“The high and lows of preteens navigating school and life, inspired by the Quin sibling pop duo’s actual childhoods . . . Walden’s illustrations are, as usual, wonderfully expressive . . . Tugs at the heartstrings like a well-tuned guitar.” —Kirkus Reviews

“The latest book from rock's favorite multihyphenate twins . . . Tweendom may be nobody's favorite era, but it's also undeniably formative—a time when swirling questions of identity and purpose and who you want to be as a person start to solidify in real and surprising ways. As young queer girls navigating those rocky shoals and simultaneously beginning to find their voices through music, who better to speak to that moment?” —Entertainment Weekly

“Popular twin-sister musicians Tegan and Sara share a fictionalized tale of their early adolescence in this first book of a planned duology . . . Fans of the duo’s work will love this and so will anyone who understands how awkward and important junior high can be.” —Booklist

“Timelessly resonant.” —Publishers Weekly